Ulrike Bingel

University Medicine Essen, University Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Full Professor of Clinical Neuroscience (W3)
Principal Investigator Erwin-L-Hahn Institute
Spokesperson SFB/TRR 289 ‘Treatment Expectation’
Director Interdisciplinary Center for Pain Medicine and Translational Pain Research

Academic Leadership
2020-present Deputy Spokesperson, Center for Translational Neuro- and Behavioural Sciences, University Medicine Essen
2018-present Elected Member of Research Committee (Forschungskommission), Faculty of Medicine, University of
2016-present Elected Review Board Member (Fachkollegiatin), FK 206 German Research Foundation (DFG),
Deputy Spokesperson since 2020
2011-2020 Steering Committee Member, DFG Research Group (FOR) 1328 ‘Expectation and Conditioning as Basic Processes of the Placebo and Nocebo response’
2012-present Research Committee Member, German Pain Society (Deutsche Schmerzgesellschaft)

Academic Career
2017-present Principle Investigator, project A11 in Collaborative Research Center (SFB) 1280 ‘Extinction Learning’
2013-present W3-Professor of Clinical Neuroscience and head interdisciplinary pain center, Department of Neurology, University Hospital Essen
2013-present Principal Investigator, Erwin L. Hahn Institute, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
2011-2015 Principle Investigator, project A4 in Collaborative Research Center (SFB) 936 ‘Multi-Site Communication in the Brain’
2009-2013 Attending of Neurology and research group leader, BMBF funded neuroscience group, Depts. of Neurology and Systems Neuroscience, University Medical Center Hamburg Eppendorf.
2008-2009 Visiting postdoctoral research fellow, Pain Group, FMRIB, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
2001-2008 Residency Training Neurology and Postdoctoral Fellow, Depts. of Neurology and Systems Neuroscience, University Medical Center, Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany

Awards and Honors
2014-2020 Editorial Board Pain
2013 Heinrich Pette Award of the German Neurological Association (DGN)
2008 German Pain Research Grant 2008 (’Deutscher Schmerzpreis‘)
2007 MSD research award for Neurology
2006 The Pain Research EFIC Grünenthal Grant (‘Europäischer Schmerzpreis’)